Losing Green to go Green… eh?

June 22, 2010 at 1:25 pm 3 comments

Cloth diapers save. right? They save money, trips to the store, diaper rashes, and undoubtedly trees, I’m sure.

Disposables also seem to save! They save time, laundry, energy (electrical as well as human kinetic energy), and space.

Okay… so which is right for you?

What I found in my experience of cloth diapering is that besides the planet… you’re really not saving that much. Yes, disposables cost lots over time… but I never realized how many accessories you need to fully run a cloth diaper only show.

-Laundry – an extra load at least every other day (4x/wk ave) $18/month

-Detergent (Yes, a special ‘non-residue leaving’ kind) $10/month

-Wet bags: ideally: two large for nursery (2 so one can be in use, 1 in wash) and two small for on the go (same philosophy for having two) $50 one time

-Diaper sprayer- to help rid the dipe of poop prior to washing $45 one time

-Diaper system: G+liner+insert, BG+insert, Prefold+snappi+cover, etc Lets round to $15/diaper, needing about 12 at least… $180 one time

Totally $275 + $28/month

Disposables – they can be as much as 30c/diaper… but does anyone actually pay that? With coupons and deals I’m usually around 22c/ diaper.

6 dipes/day for 30 days… 180 dipes at 22c each = $40/month (this rings true with our monthly diaper costs)

So… $40 – $28 = $12 saving per month with cloth. But wait… that $275 sits heavy on my checkbook! How many months would it take to recoop that initial cost? $275 / $12 = 22 months

This may not be how it breaks down for you though! If you are already using a ‘free and clear’ detergent, don’t care for a diaper sprayer it may pan out differently… just some poop for thought! :)

Entry filed under: Baby Faves. Tags: , , , , , , .

Puj Tub Review

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. anna  |  June 23, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    I don’t but seperate detergent or a diaper sprayer & my wetbags cost £3.50GBP each about $5 plus I have another baby on the way, but for me I cloth diaper because I don’t want all the horrible chemicals against my babies bum

    Reply
  • 2. Wrigglepot  |  April 5, 2013 at 5:44 am

    Thanks for the information, nut at times both the diapers are required.

    Reply
  • 3. Alex Horton  |  June 17, 2013 at 5:23 pm

    A lot of the accessories could probably be purchased used. Also, if you were able to hang them on an outdoor or indoor clothesline you would probably save a lot on electricity. Using elimination communication would also help reduce the frequency of laundry and might possibly negate the need for a diaper sprayer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Baby Blog

This blog is all about babies & baby products- my faves lists! But I want to hear what you think! And I want to learn all about your top mom items. In any of the comment boxes tell me what you can't live without!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

My favorite funs for kiddos

Talk to me!

Let me know what your baby faves are! I'm currently seeking the perfect baby sling... have a suggestion?
Comment OR e-mail me at acjones86@gmail.com

Follow me!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

